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Using This Manual

If you have any questions about the material
covered in this manual or need further assistance,
please contact:
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Congratulations on deciding to run for political office in Utah! Running for office is exhilarating,

but the requirements can be complicated and difficult to navigate–particularly if you are new to

the process.

The following icons used in this manual
are to emphasize information:

The purpose of this manual is to explain the procedures and requirements for individuals interested in

filing for public office in the state of Utah. 

The contents of this manual are subject to change by legislative or judicial action. The contents of this

manual are also for the exclusive use of U.S. Senate, U.S. House, Governor, Lieutenant Governor, Attorney

General, State Auditor, State Treasurer, legislative, and state board of education candidates. All instructions

for partisan candidates within this guide are for Qualified Political Party (QPP) candidates. 

This guide is not a substitute for Utah State Code, and it is not intended to be a comprehensive or an

authoritative statement of law. For further legal information, please consult Utah State Code or other

appropriate legal resources. If any inconsistency exists between this publication and statute, the statutory

language governs. Utah State Code can be found at le.utah.gov.

Disclaimer

Assistance 

About this manual & additional assistance

Icons

Utah Lieutenant Governor’s Office

Indicates a deadline

Indicates additional information

Indicates alert; warning; attention
needed

Indicates a question

Indicates a reference to a form

(801) 538-1041

elections@utah.gov

Utah State Capitol
350 North State Street, Suite 220
PO Box 142325
Salt Lake City, UT 84114

www.vote.utah.gov

@electionsutah

http://le.utah.gov/
mailto:elections@utah.gov
http://vote.utah.gov/
https://www.instagram.com/electionsutah/
https://www.instagram.com/electionsutah/


Qualifications for Office

Attorney General*, 
State Auditor,

State Treasurer
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Before you begin campaigning, meeting voters, or collecting campaign donations, you will want to ensure
that you meet certain requirements to hold office. Review the table below to determine whether you meet
the requirements of the office you plan to seek.

State Board of
Education**

U.S. House of 

Representatives

Utah State Senate

Utah State House
of Representatives

Governor, 
Lieutenant Governor

25

25

25

18

25

30

1 year living in the
school board

district

Resident of Utah 
for 5 years

Resident of Utah
for 5 years

Resident of Utah for 3
years; 6 months living in the
Senate district prior to the

last day of filing

U.S. Citizen

U.S. Citizen

U.S. Citizen

U.S. Citizen

U.S. Citizen
for 9 years

U.S. Citizen
for 7 years

Other Qualifications

4 years

4 years

4 years

2 years

4 years

2 years

Term

Citizen of the United States;
At least 18 years old
A resident of Utah for 30 days by the date of the election; and
Registered to vote in Utah.

10 years have passed since the individual’s most recent felony conviction;
The individual paid all court-ordered restitution and fines; and
The individual completed probation, granted parole, or completed the term of incarceration associated with the felony.
An individual convicted of an election related misdemeanor has restored their rights to hold office according to Utah Code
20A-2-101.5.

* Attorney General candidates must be admitted to practice before the Supreme Court of Utah, and in good standing at 
the bar.

** State Board of Education candidates cannot have been convicted of a grievous sexual offense against a child, as 
defined in Utah Code 76-1-101.5, 20A-2-101.5

(1) A qualified voter meets the following requirements:

(2) An individual convicted of certain crimes loses the right to hold office until convictions have been expunged OR the
individual meets all of the following requirements:

(3) No person holding any public office of profit or trust under authority of the United States, or of this State, shall be 
a member of the Legislature: provided that appointments in the State Militia, and the offices of notary public, justice of 
the peace, United States commissioner, and postmaster of the fourth class, shall not, within the meaning of this 
section, be considered offices of profit or trust (see Utah Constitution Article VI, Section 6).

US Const., Article I, section 2-3; UT Const. Article VI, section 5; UT Const. Article VII, Section 3; UCA 20A-14-103; UCA 20A-2-101.5

CitizenshipResidencyAgeOffice

U.S. Senate 6 years30

U.S. Citizen

Resident of Utah
when elected

Resident of Utah for 3
years; 6 months living in the

House district prior to the
last day of filing

Resident of Utah
when elected

Qualified voter ; not
convicted of certain
crimes

1

2

Qualified voter ; not
convicted of certain
crimes

1

2

Qualified voter ; not
convicted of certain crimes   
;cannot hold any public
office of profit or trust

1
2

3

Qualified voter ; not
convicted of certain crimes   
;cannot hold any public
office of profit or trust

1
2

3

Qualified voter ; not
convicted of certain crimes   
;cannot hold any public
office of profit or trust

1
2

3

-
-

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter2/20A-2-S101.5.html
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title76/Chapter1/76-1-S101.5.html?v=C76-1-S101.5_2023022720230227
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter2/20A-2-S101.5.html
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/ArticleVI/Article_VI,_Section_6.html?v=UC_AVI_S6_1800010118000101
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/ArticleVI/Article_VI,_Section_6.html?v=UC_AVI_S6_1800010118000101
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/ArticleVI/Article_VI,_Section_6.html?v=UC_AVI_S6_1800010118000101
https://constitution.congress.gov/constitution/article-1/
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/ArticleVI/Article_VI,_Section_5.html
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/ArticleVII/Article_VII,_Section_3.html?v=UC_AVII_S3_1800010118000101
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter14/20A-14-S103.html?v=C20A-14-S103_2018030120180301
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter2/20A-2-S101.5.html?v=C20A-2-S101.5_1800010118000101
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If you do not take part in the political party system and you meet the requirements for the particular

office described in the chart on page 4, you are able to file a Declaration of Candidacy as an

unaffiliated or write-in candidate. To run for federal office, statewide executive, legislative, or the state

board of education as a non-partisan candidate, refer to pages 19-22.

If you plan on running as a party candidate and you meet the requirements for the particular office

described in the chart on page 4, you must be a member of that particular party at the time of filing your

Declaration of Candidacy documents*. Note: An unaffiliated voter can affiliate any time but if you wish to
change from one party to another, the deadline is January 9, 2024. To run for federal office, statewide

executive, legislative, or the state board of education as a partisan candidate, refer to pages 7-18. 

Utah state law does not regulate the way that political parties govern themselves. Each party is

responsible for creating their own by-laws and nominating procedures. 

Utah Political Parties:

What is the difference between Partisan and Non-partisan?
Partisan candidates:

Non-partisan candidates:

*Some parties may have additional requirements to be eligible to declare as a party candidate. You will want to contact party
leaders to ensure that you meet all the requirements.

Constitution Party - www.constitutionpartyofutah.com; (435) 314-8847

Democratic Party - www.utahdemocrats.org; (801) 328-1212

Independent American Party - www.iaputah.org; (801) 970-1076

Libertarian Party - www.libertarianutah.org; (866) 511-8857

No Labels Party -  www.nolabels.org; (202) 588-1990

Republican Party - www.utgop.org; (801) 533-9777

United Utah Party - www.unitedutah.org; (385) 325-1620

Utah Forward Party - www.utahforwardparty.org; (801) 441-003

 How do I join a party or change my party affiliation? 

Simply fill out a new voter registration form and select the  party that you wish to be
affiliated with. You can update your voter registration information online at
voter.utah.gov or by using a printable form which is available at this link. Some
deadlines apply (see Utah Code 20A-2-107).
 

Political Parties

http://www.utahconstitutionparty.com/
http://www.constitutionpartyofutah.com/
http://www.utahdemocrats.org/
http://www.utahdemocrats.org/
http://www.utahdemocrats.org/
http://www.utahdemocrats.org/
http://www.utahiap.com/
http://www.iaputah.org/
http://www.libertarianutah.org/
http://www.libertarianutah.org/
https://www.nolabels.org/
http://www.utgop.org/
http://www.utgop.org/
http://www.unitedutah.org/
http://www.unitedutah.org/
https://www.utahforwardparty.org/
http://voter.utah.gov/
https://elections.utah.gov/Media/Default/Forms/Utah%20Voter%20Registration%20Form.pdf
https://elections.utah.gov/Media/Default/Forms/Utah%20Voter%20Registration%20Form.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter2/20A-2-S107.html
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If you are reading this online, click anywhere on a section below to jump to the requirements.

You have several paths from which to select to become a candidate. If you want to be a partisan (political

party) candidate, you have three options:

Participate in your political party’s caucus and convention system.
Gather signatures from voters.*
Participate in your political party’s caucus and convention system and gather signatures from voters.

*Only available to Qualified Political Parties (QPP). See 20A-9-406.

If you prefer not to be a partisan candidate, you can be an unaffiliated candidate or a write-in candidate. An 
unaffiliated candidate’s name appears on the general election ballot, but a write-in candidate’s name does
not appear on the general election ballot. 

Below is a simple chart that illustrates the basic requirements for each path. 

Selecting your path to become a candidate

Convention
Path

(Pages 7-11)

1. Get to know the
convention system

2. Declare 
candidacy

3. Attend your
party’s convention

4. Primary election

5. General election

Gathering
Signatures Path*

(Pages 12-18)

1. Determine your
signature
requirement

2. Declare Candidacy
and intent to gather
signatures

4. Gather signatures

5. Submit petition
signatures for review

6. Primary election

7. General election

Convention &
Gathering

Signatures Path*
(Pages 7-18)

1. Get to know the
convention system

2. Determine your
signature 
requirement

3. Declare
candidacy and  
intent to gather
signatures

4. Gather signatures

5. Submit petition
signatures for
review

6.Attend your
party’s convention

7. Primary election

8. General election

Unaffiliated
Candidates

(Pages 19-21)

1. Determine your
signature 
requirement &
obtain petition
template

2. Gather signatures

3. Submit
signatures for
verification

4. Submit the
verified signatures
& declare
candidacy

5. General election

1. Declare
Candidacy

2. General
election

Write-in
Candidates

(Page 22)

Partisan Candidates
Non-Partisan Candidates

*This option is only available to parties that are recognized as a “Qualified Political Party”.

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter9/20A-9-S406.html


Delegates gather at the party’s conventions to

nominate candidates.

Delegates at the county convention vote for 

candidates for county and legislative offices that 

lie entirely within one county.

Delegates at the state convention vote for 

candidates for federal, statewide, legislative, and 

state school board offices that are located within 

multiple counties.

           See pages 41-43 for list of Utah legislative 

           districts 

Candidates who receive a certain 

percentage of delegates’ votes will be 

nominated and their name will be placed on the 

primary ballot. The Primary Election will be held 

on Tuesday, June 25, 2024.

Partisan Candidates

A caucus is a neighborhood meeting of a 

political party’s members. Caucuses are held in

March. Contact your party for specific dates.

During the meeting, caucus members select

representatives from the caucus to attend either

the county or state convention. These

representatives are known as delegates.

Primary
Election

Caucus
Meetings

County &
State
Conventions
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1. Get to know the convention system (continue reading this page).

2. Declare candidacy between January 2, 2024 and 5:00 p.m. on January 8, 2024 (pages 8-10).

3. Attend your party’s convention and be selected as the nominee. (page 11).

*Each political party will have a unique process. This is a general description of how the process works.

The convention system is one path partisan candidates can take to get their name on the primary

election ballot. If you select this path, you must complete 3 steps:

Convention Path
UCA 20A-9-407; UCA 20A-9-408.5

(single-county

candidates)

Step 1: Get to know your convention system*

State
Delegates

State
Convention

Primary Election

Caucus Meetings

County
Delegates

County
Convention

(Federal,

statewide

constitutional,

and multi-county

candidates)

 Partisan Candidates: Convention Path

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter9/20A-9-S407.html
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter9/20A-9-S408.5.html


           You must declare candidacy between Tuesday, January 2, 2024 and 
           5:00 p.m. on Monday, January 8, 2024*. Late declarations cannot be
accepted.

No Labels Party candidates have a filing deadline of April 29, 2024 at 5:00 p.m.

*Candidates for Lieutenant Governor will have different declaration dates. Refer
to page 23 for more information about declaring for the office of Lieutenant
Governor.

Federal and statewide executive candidates file in-person with the Lieutenant 
Governor’s office. All other candidates, regardless of whether they are multi- or
single-county candidates, file in-person with the county clerk of their county of
residence. These candidates also have the option to file with the Lieutenant
Governor’s Office.

When do I
declare
candidacy?

Where do I
declare
candidacy?

What paperwork
do I need to
declare
candidacy?

All candidates must declare candidacy with their filing officer. If you choose to gather signatures in addition
to participating in your party’s convention, you do not need to declare candidacy twice.

         Use this chart to determine who your filing officer is:

Declaration of Candidacy Form. This form requires your name, contact

information, party, and whether you will go through convention, gather

signatures, or both. You may also provide your campaign’s email address,

website, and Twitter handle.

Conflict of Interest Form. (It is best to complete this before officially
declaring your candidacy). This form is required for Utah legislative and

statewide executive office candidates (not candidates for federal office).

Each candidate must file online at disclosures.utah.gov. Here are the steps

that a candidate must take to submit this form:

1. Create a username and register your campaign (follow instructions on page 31)
2. After creating your account and registering the page, return to the 
disclosures.utah.gov home page. (Instructions continued on next page)

You must submit the forms listed below to declare candidacy. Your filing officer will

make these forms available during the filing period. After you file the forms they will

be posted on vote.utah.gov.

Step 2: Declare Candidacy
UCA 20A-9-201.5, UCA 20A-9-202, UCA 20A-9-206, UCA 20A-9-407, UCA 20A-9-701

County Clerk in Resident County Office of Lieutenant Governor

Utah State House of Representatives 
Utah State Senate
State Board of Education

U.S. Senate
U.S. House of Representatives
Governor
Lieutenant Governor
Attorney General
State Auditor
State Treasurer

These candidates also have the option to
file with the Lieutenant Governor’s Office.
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 Partisan Candidates: Convention Path

http://www.disclosures.utah.gov/
http://www.disclosures.utah.gov/
http://disclosures.utah.gov/
http://disclosures.utah.gov/
http://vote.utah.gov/
http://vote.utah.gov/
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter9/20A-9-S201.html?v=C20A-9-S201_2019092320190923
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter9/20A-9-S201.5.html
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter9/20A-9-S201.5.html
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter9/20A-9-S202.html
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter9/20A-9-S206.html
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter9/20A-9-S206.html
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter9/20A-9-S407.html?v=C20A-9-S407_2019092320190923
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter9/20A-9-S701.html?v=C20A-9-S701_2015051220150512


Address Protection Form (optional). This form allows a candidate to have

their residential or mailing address classified as a protected record. If you

choose to file this form, you must provide the filing office another address

or phone number where you may be contacted.

What paperwork
do I need to
declare
candidacy?

9

5. Click “Begin a new Conflict of 
Interest Form.”

4. Click “Submit or Update Conflict of 
Interest Forms”

3. Click on “My Folder” on the left

hand  side of the screen.

6. Fill out the required fields and submit the form. 

This form must be completed prior to declaring candidacy.

Pledge of Fair Campaign Practices (optional). This is a pledge to conduct
your campaign according to the statements outlined in the pledge.

Office Filing Fee

(cont. from previous page)

What if I can’t
declare
candidacy in
person?

If you are located outside of Utah during the entire declaration of

candidacy period, you can designate another individual to file your

declaration paperwork on your behalf.

Your signature must be notarized on the declaration of candidacy—your 

designated agent cannot sign for you. To file on your behalf, the designated

agent must file your paperwork in-person with your filing officer during the

declaration period. The designated agent must also use an electronic device

that allows you and the filing officer to hear and see each other (e.g., Skype,

Facetime).

 Partisan Candidates: Convention Path



OFFICE FILING FEE

U.S. Senate $1,355.00

U.S. House of
Representatives

$485.00

Governor $964.50

Lieutenant Governor $873.05

Attorney General $918.78

State Auditor $873.05

State Treasurer $873.05

Utah State Senate $116.05

Utah House of
Representatives

$83.02

State Board of Education $90.61

What fees do I
need to pay?

You must pay a filing fee when you declare candidacy. The table below lists

the filing fees for each office.

If you are unable to pay due to financial hardship, you may file an affidavit

of impecuniosity. The filing officer may ask you to provide evidence of your

inability to pay and then determine whether the fee will be waived.

How do I pay my
filing fee?

Payment of filing fees to the Office of the Lieutenant Governor can be 

made with all major credit cards, personal check, or cash (with exact 

change). You will want to contact your county clerk about acceptable

payment methods, as they could vary.

10

 Partisan Candidates: Convention Path



Are there
other
requirements?

Which
convention do I
attend?

When are
conventions
held?
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Reach out to your party leaders to inquire about convention if you are 

unsure about which convention to attend. 

Your party’s constitution or bylaws may require you to perform additional

steps to qualify for the convention. You should contact your party (refer to

page 5) to determine if any additional steps exist.

If you are a candidate for a legislative or state board of education office that is

located entirely within a single county, you will likely attend your party’s

county convention. 

If you are a candidate for federal, statewide executive office, or multi-county

legislative or state board of education office, you will likely attend your party’s

statewide convention. Each party may have different rules regarding

convention attendance. 

County conventions are typically held between late March and mid-April. State

conventions are typically held in late April after the county conventions.

Contact your party (refer to page 5) to determine the exact date of your

convention.

Step 3: Attend your party’s convention
UCA 20A-9-407

Partisan Candidates: Convention Path

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter9/20A-9-S407.html


 Partisan Candidates: Gathering Signatures Path

Partisan Candidates
Declare Candidacy and Intent to Gather Signatures 
UCA 20A-9-201, UCA 20A-9-202, UCA 20A-9-406, UCA 20A-9-408, UCA 20A-9-408.5, UCA 20A-9-409
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Step 1: Declare Candidacy and Intent to Gather Signatures 
All candidates must declare candidacy with their filing officer. Declaring candidacy is not the
same as declaring your intent to gather signatures, but you will declare both on the same form. If
you choose to participate in your party’s convention in addition to gathering signatures, you do
not need to declare candidacy twice.

You must declare candidacy and your intent to gather signatures between
January 2, 2024 and 5:00 p.m. on January 8, 2024. The No Labels Party,
which is a Registered Political Party & NOT a Qualified Political Party, has a
declaration deadline of April 29, 2024 at 5:00 p.m. 
Late declarations cannot be accepted. 

When do I declare
my candidacy and
intent to gather
signatures?

Please refer to pages 8-10 of this manual for steps on declaring candidacy
and filing fee information.

Gathering voters’ signatures is one path Qualified Political Party candidates

can take to get their name on the primary election ballot. Note: This path is
only available for Qualified Political Parties. If you select this path, you

must complete 4 steps:

1. Determine your signature requirement (continue reading this page). 
2. Declare intent to gather signatures between January 2, 2024 and 5:00
p.m. on January 8, 2024 when you declare candidacy (page 12).
3. Begin gathering signatures (pages 12-15).
4. Submit petition signatures at least 2 weeks before your convention
(pages 16-17).

Please also refer to page 18 for important signature gathering
requirements.

How do I declare
candidacy?

 Partisan Candidates: Gathering Signatures Path

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter9/20A-9-S201.html?v=C20A-9-S201_2019092320200101
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter9/20A-9-S202.html
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter9/20A-9-S406.html?v=C20A-9-S406_2018050820180508
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter9/20A-9-S408.html
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter9/20A-9-S408.5.html
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter9/20A-9-S409.html?v=C20A-9-S409_2019092320190923


Who can sign
my petitions?

How many
signatures do I
need to gather?

The number of signatures you need to gather depends on the office you are
seeking. The table below outlines signature requirements. 

All signers must meet the following requirements in order for their
signature to be considered valid:

UCA 20A-9-408

Office Valid Signatures Required

OFFICE VALID SIGNATURES REQUIRED

U.S. Senate 28,000

Statewide Offices 28,000

U.S. House of
Representatives

7,000

State Senator 2,000

State House of
Representatives

1,000

State Board of Education

The lesser of 2,000 registered voters permitted to vote
in the Primary Election in the District, OR 3% of

registered voters affiliated with the political party in the
District.

• Registered to vote in Utah (or will be registered before the signature is

verified by the election officer).

• Live in the district of the office you are seeking. 

• Allowed to vote in your party’s primary election.

• Did not sign a petition for another candidate running for the same office.

A good rule of thumb is to collect more signatures than what is required because 
not every signature you collect will be valid.
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Once you submit your form, the filing officer will provide you with instructions and 3
documents to compile your petition packets:

Before you begin to gather signatures, you must declare an intent to gather
signatures on your Declaration of Candidacy Form. You may not collect any
signatures before doing so.

Petition cover sheet (Microsoft Word format)

Petition signature sheet (PDF format)

Petition verification sheet (PDF format)

•

•

• 

Please note that these petition materials differ from those of unaffiliated
candidate petitions. Unaffiliated candidate petitions will not be accepted
from a partisan candidate.

Step 2: Determine your signature requirement

 Partisan Candidates: Gathering Signatures Path

Note: According to 20A-9-403, a signature petition for a candidate from a
Registered Political Party (the No Labels Party) must be signed by at least 2%
of the registered political party's members who reside in the political division
of the office that the individual seeks.

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter9/20A-9-S408.html
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter9/20A-9-S403.html?v=C20A-9-S403_2023050320230503#20A-9-403%283%29%28a%29


Printing, binding, 
& arranging
petition packets
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You may begin gathering signatures if you have filed your Declaration of Candidacy Form and have
chosen the signature gathering path. The first thing to do is compile your petition packets. 

Partisan candidate signature packets will be emailed to candidates AFTER

they file for office AND declare their intent to gather signatures.You are

responsible for printing and binding your petition packets. They must be

bound across the top (long edge of paper) in at least 3 places using either

staples or spiral binding. Packets must be bound before they are circulated,

and they cannot be taken apart or rearranged once they are bound. Your

packets may be rejected if you do so. 

Step 3: Gather signatures
UCA 20A-9-408

You will notice there is a barcode on your petition packet materials. These
unique barcodes are linked to you, so do not use or share petition materials
with other campaigns or candidates. 

Barcodes on
petition materials

Petition packets must include 3 sheets and be arranged in the order
below. 

Cover Sheet

Signature Sheet

Verification Sheet

This indicates the office you are seeking,
your name, party affiliation, and
address. The Microsoft Word format will
allow you to insert your photograph.

Each petition packet needs 1 cover 

sheet.

This is where voters will sign your 
petition. Voters provide their name, signature,
address, and the date. They have the option of
providing their age or birth date.

Each petition packet may have up to 50 

signature sheets.

The person circulating the petition packet must
complete this sheet. The circulator 
must count the number of signatures in the
packet and sign. Each packet must be
circulated by only one person.

Each petition packet needs 1 verification sheet.

Partisan Candidates: Gathering Signatures Path
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Who can
circulate
petitions?

Responsibilities
of petition
circulators
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Any resident of Utah who is over 18 years of age may circulate a petition. They do
not need to be registered to vote; however, the filing officer can better verify the
circulator’s age and residency if they are registered to vote. If a circulator does not
meet these requirements, the signatures they gathered are not valid.

Circulators must personally witness the signing of each signature AND complete
and sign the verification sheet of every petition packet they use to gather
signatures. Circulators cannot sign the signature sheets of any petitions they
circulate – they must sign a petition packet of another circulator if they wish to sign
the petition.

Each petition packet must be used by only one circulator. If you have multiple 
circulators, they will each need separate packets.

Petition circulators should receive permission from the appropriate entity or
owner if they want to gather signatures in private and public areas.

Paid signature
gatherers

You can pay circulators to gather signatures. If you choose to do so, keep these 
rules in mind:
   • Gatherers cannot be paid based on the total number of signatures they 
      collect.
   • Gatherers can be paid based on the total number of valid signatures they 
      collect, an hourly rate, or any other legal method of payment.
   • Using companies that offer signature collection services is allowed, but 
      they must follow all applicable state laws.

You can also use volunteers to gather signatures. Volunteers and their time do not 

qualify as campaign contributions. However, if volunteers are paid by a third party 

(e.g., a political action committee or corporation), this would be considered an

in-kind contribution from the third party. 

        Refer to page 27 for more information on in-kind contributions.

If an individual wishes to sign your petition but is not registered to vote or affiliated 
with your party*, you may provide them with a registration form. Please ensure
that the completed registration form is submitted to the appropriate county clerk 
before you submit the individual’s petition signature. 

*Some parties do not require voters to register with their party in order to sign a 
petition or vote in the party’s primary. You will want to contact your party
leadership to determine your party’s policies on this matter. 

        County clerks cannot guarantee that a voter registration form will be                            
        processed prior to the petition signature.

Volunteer
signature
gatherers

Registering
petition signers 
to vote

 Partisan Candidates: Gathering Signatures Path



UCA 20A-9-408

Step 4: Submit petition signatures for review

When do I submit
petition
signatures?

You must submit petition signatures no later than 2 weeks prior to your 
party’s nominating convention–even if you are not participating in the 
convention process. The deadline will be extended to the following business
day if the 2 week deadline falls on a weekend or holiday. You may submit
petition signatures any time before this deadline.

The No Labels Party signature submission deadline is April 1, 2024 at 5:00
p.m.

You must also obtain the required number of signatures before you submit
them for verification. For example, if you are required to obtain 1,000
signatures, you cannot submit any petition signatures until you have
collected at least 1,000 signatures. 

You are encouraged to submit your petition signatures earlier than the
deadline. This will allow you to gather and submit more signatures if you fail
to reach the required number of valid signatures with your first submission.

All federal, statewide executive offices, and multi-county candidates must
submit petition signatures to the Davis County Clerk‘s office. Single-county
candidates must submit petition signatures to the county clerk where the
candidate resides.

Refer to pages 41-43 for information about Single- and Multi-County
Districts.

Where do I
submit petition
signatures?

How do I submit
my petition
signatures?

You or a designated agent must submit your petition signatures in-person 
and complete a petition submission form that includes the following
information:

• Name and contact information.
• Estimated number of petition packets being submitted.
• Estimated number of signatures being submitted.
• You or your designated agent’s signature.

After you submit this form and your petitions, the election official will
provide a copy of the form. Keep this copy for your records.

Can I supplement
my petition
signatures?

Yes. You may submit additional petition signatures if it is before the deadline
and you have not yet obtained the required number of signatures. The
requirements to submit supplemental signatures are identical to those of
your first submission.
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How will I know if
I meet the
signature
requirement?

How will petition
signatures be
verified?

When will petition
signatures be
verified?

Election officials will verify that each signer in your petition is qualified to sign (refer
to page 13 to read about these qualifications).

Election officials will also verify petitions in the order in which they are received. If
your opponent submits their petition before you, election officials will verify your
opponent’s entire submission before yours. 

         A submission of supplemental signatures will be considered a new 
          submission and will take its place at the bottom of the verification order.

Voters may only sign for one candidate per office. If a voter signs two separate
candidate petitions for the same office, the candidate who submits the signature
first will receive credit for the signature.

Election officials will verify your petition signatures until you meet the signature
requirement.

The time required to verify your petition signatures will depend on the size of your
petition and the number of petitions submitted before yours. Avoid submitting your
petition near the deadline, as the number of submissions is expected to increase
during that period of time.

Regardless of your petition size and submission date, election officials will complete 
the verification of your petition within 14 days after the signatures are submitted, 
OR, at least 1 day prior to your party’s convention (13 days after the submission 
deadline)–whichever is earlier. 

Once your petition signatures are verified, your election official will notify you 
within 1 business day whether you meet the signature requirement. If the signature 
verification process is still underway, you can check on your petition’s status on the 
Lieutenant Governor’s website, vote.utah.gov.
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Electronic
signature
gathering

If you choose to gather signatures electronically instead of manually, as outlined
above, then you can ONLY gather signatures electronically. And vice versa. If you
choose the manual route to gather signatures then you can ONLY gather signatures
manually. No cross method signature gathering is permitted. For more information
on Electronic Signature Gathering please contact the Office of the Lieutenant
Governor. Contact Information located on the cover of this manual.

 Partisan Candidates: Gathering Signatures Path
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Signature Gathering Requirements 
20A-9-405; 20A-9-408

Candidates and their circulators must gather signatures in accordance with Utah Code. Violation of
these provisions can result in signatures being disqualified, and/or criminal penalties. Please be aware
of the following requirements: 

A candidate must declare their intent to gather signatures as part of the filing process;
signatures cannot be gathered until after the candidate has filed, and they have received the
gathering materials from the Lieutenant Governor’s Office.

Candidates must use the form provided by the Lieutenant Governor’s Office to gather
signatures. The materials provided cannot be altered; the only exception is that candidates
may place a photo of themselves on the front of signature gathering packets. 

An individual is signing on his/her own behalf, and not on behalf of another person.
They witness the person signing, meaning that they physically observe the individual sign
the packet.
They do not sign the packet they are circulating. (If this occurs, the circulator’s signature
will be invalid). 

Circulators must be a resident of Utah and at least 18 years old. When gathering signatures,
the circulator must ensure that:

Individuals cannot be paid or receive anything of monetary value for signing a petition. 

Circulators must be paid at an hourly rate or per valid signature. They cannot be compensated
for the gross number of signatures they submit. 

Any person violating this section is guilty of a class A misdemeanor. 
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https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter9/20A-9-S405.html?v=C20A-9-S405_2022050420230101
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Who can sign
my petition?

Where can I
obtain petition
templates?

How many
signatures do I
need to gather?
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A good rule of thumb is to collect more signatures than what is required because

not every signature you collect will be valid.

All signers must meet the following requirements in order for their signature to
be considered valid:

• Registered to vote in Utah (or will be registered before the signature is verified
by the election officer).
• Live in the district of the office you are seeking.
• Did not sign a petition for another candidate running for the same office.

You can access the petition template form on the vote.utah.gov website or

by clicking here. Refer to the next page to determine how to compile your 

petition packets.

The number of signatures you need to gather depends on the office you are 

seeking. U.S. House, legislative, and state board of education candidates must 

gather signatures from at least 300 or 5% of registered voters within the

district, whichever is less. If you are seeking statewide office, you will need to

gather from at least 1,000 registered voters residing within the state.

If you prefer not to participate in the political party process, you can run for office as an unaffiliated

candidate. As an unaffiliated candidate, you are entitled to all the rights and subject to all the regulations

and penalties of political party candidates. You will have your name printed on the ballot, but your name

will be accompanied with a short explanation that you are not affiliated with a political party. Follow the 4

steps below to become an unaffiliated candidate:

1. Determine your signature requirement and obtain petition templates (continue reading this page).
2. Gather signatures (pages 14-15).
3. Submit signatures to county clerks for verification (pages 16-17).
4. Submit the verified signatures before or between January 2, 2024 and 5:00 p.m. on
 January 8,  2024 (pages 8-10). 

Unaffiliated Candidates must submit the verified signatures BEFORE they can declare candidacy.

Step 1: Determine your signature requirement and obtain petition template
UCA 20A-9-502

 Unaffiliated Candidates
 Unaffiliated Candidates

http://vote.utah.gov/
https://vote.utah.gov/2024-presidential-filing-forms/
https://voteinfo.utah.gov/wp-content/uploads/sites/42/2019/05/Unaffiliated-Candidate-Petition.pdf
https://voteinfo.utah.gov/wp-content/uploads/sites/42/2019/05/Unaffiliated-Candidate-Petition.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter9/20A-9-S502.html?v=C20A-9-S502_2018022120180221
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 Unaffiliated Candidates

You may begin gathering signatures on or after November 1, 2023.

Step 2: Gather signatures
UCA 20A-9-502

See pages 14-15 for signature gathering steps and other important info.
Note: Click here to access and download an Unaffiliated candidate petition packet from our
website.

Step 3: Submit signatures for verification
UCA 20A-9-502

Once you gather the required number of signatures, you must get the signatures verified by the county
clerk. 
            

               This step must be done before you declare candidacy (step 4).

Where do I
submit petition
signatures for
verification?

The petition signatures must be verified before you declare candidacy 

between January 2, 2024 and 5:00 p.m. on January 8, 2024. Depending

on the time of year and the number of signatures you collected,

signature verification could take several days or weeks.

When do I
submit
signatures for
verification?

When do I
submit
signatures for
verification?

It is highly advised that you coordinate with the county clerks to ensure that

clerks have enough time to verify the signatures before the end of the

declaration period. Refer to page 40 for county clerk contact information.

Signatures must be verified by a county clerk - even if you are a federal,

statewide executive office, or multi-county candidate. If you obtain signatures

within multiple counties, you must submit a voter’s signature to the voter’s

county clerk. It is advised that you circulate each petition or petition packet

within one county so you can easily determine which signatures go to a

particular county clerk.

Can I
supplement my
petition
signatures?

Yes. If you continue to gather signatures after submitting a packet to a county

clerk for verification, you may submit additional signatures. The procedure for

doing this is exactly the same as described in steps 1-2. Again, please coordinate

with the respective county clerk to ensure there is enough time to verify

supplemental signatures before the end of the declaration period.

 Unaffiliated Candidates

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter9/20A-9-S502.html?v=C20A-9-S502_2018022120180221
https://chat.google.com/dm/_otPdUAAAAE/EHwU04HgR_8/EHwU04HgR_8?cls=10
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter9/20A-9-S502.html?v=C20A-9-S502_2018022120180221


How do I know if
and when my
signatures are
verified?
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Once your petition signatures are verified, your election official will
notify you within 1 business day whether you meet the signature
requirement.

Step 4: Submit the verified signatures & declare candidacy
UCA 20A-9-201, UCA 20A-9-206 

After your petition signatures are verified, you must submit the verified signatures and declare candidacy

with the appropriate filing officer. 

After the required number of signatures are verified, you must declare
candidacy with the appropriate filing officer between January 2, 2024 and
5:00 p.m. on January 8, 2024*.
Late declarations cannot be accepted.

*Candidates for Lieutenant Governor will have different declaration dates.
Refer to page 23 for more information about declaring for the office of
Lieutenant Governor.

Federal candidates and statewide constitutional offices submit signatures
and file in-person with the Lieutenant Governor’s Office. All other candidates
can submit signatures and file in-person with the county clerk of their county
of residence.
 

How do I
declare
candidacy?

Please refer to pages 8-10 of this manual for steps on declaring candidacy and
filing fee information.

 Unaffiliated Candidates

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter9/20A-9-S201.html
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter9/20A-9-S206.html?v=C20A-9-S206_1800010118000101


How do I
declare
candidacy?

Where do I
declare
candidacy?
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Federal and statewide executive office candidates file in-person with the

Lieutenant Governor’s Office. All other candidates, regardless of whether

they are multi- or single-county candidates, file in-person with the county

clerk of their county of residence.

As a write-in candidate, your name does not appear on the ballot. Voters must write or type your name on

the write-in line for a vote to count. The process to become a write-in candidate is simple: you must declare

candidacy with the appropriate election official. In Utah, only write-in candidates who have filed a
declaration will have votes recorded.

The deadline to declare write-in candidacy is 5:00 p.m. on
September 3, 2024. Late declarations cannot be accepted.

Write-in Candidates
 UCA 20A-9-601

When do I
declare
candidacy?

Please refer to pages 8-10 of this manual for steps on declaring candidacy
and filing fee information.

Do I need to pay
any fees?

Do I need to file
campaign
finance reports?

If you are unable to pay due to financial hardship, you may file an affidavit

of impecuniosity. The filing officer may ask you to provide evidence of your

inability to pay and then determine whether the fee will be waived.

Write-in candidates are subject to the same filing fees as affiliated and

unaffiliated candidates.

If you are a federal write-in candidate, check with the Federal Election

Commission (FEC) to determine whether you need to file financial

disclosure reports.

If you are a statewide executive office, state legislative or state board of 

education candidate, you must file financial disclosure reports with the

Lieutenant Governor’s Office. Refer to page 25 for more information.

Write-In Candidates

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter9/20A-9-S601.html
https://www.fec.gov/
https://www.fec.gov/
https://www.fec.gov/


When do I
declare
candidacy?

Where do I
declare
candidacy?

What do I need 
to do to
declare?

The process of candidacy for lieutenant governor is different than other offices. One way that it is different

is that candidates who previously declared for office in 2024 are allowed to also declare as candidate for

lieutenant governor. If a candidate wishes to file a declaration of candidacy for lieutenant governor and

they had previously declared for another office, they simply need to withdraw as a candidate for the other

office that they previously declared candidacy.

               Withdrawing as a candidate for office can be done by filing a written affidavit with your filing officer.

          The deadline to declare candidacy for a party candidate is 5:00 p.m., 

          April 29,  2024. Late declarations cannot be accepted. 

Lieutenant Governor candidates file in-person with the Lieutenant Governor’s 
Office. 

In order to declare candidacy, the lieutenant governor candidate must provide
a letter from the candidate for governor that names the lieutenant governor 
candidate as a joint-ticket running mate.

 

Lieutenant Governor Candidates
  UCA 20A-9-201, 20A-9-202, 20A-9-504

Partisan Lieutenant Governor Candidates

Please refer to pages 8-10 of this manual for steps on declaring candidacy
and filing fee information.

Do I need to
file campaign
finance
reports?

Yes. Statewide executive office candidates must file financial disclosure

reports with the Lieutenant Governor’s Office. Refer to page 25 for more

information.

Unaffiliated Lieutenant Governor Candidates

When do I
declare
candidacy?

What do I need
to do to
declare?

The deadline to declare candidacy for an unaffiliated candidate is

5:00 p.m., July 5, 2024. Late declarations cannot be accepted. 

Prior to declaring candidacy, the unaffiliated lieutenant governor candidate

shall obtain proof from an unaffiliated candidate for governor that they

have been selected as the candidate for governor’s running mate.

Declarations should be made at the Lieutenant Governor’s office. 

All other filing processes are the same for unaffiliated candidates as they are
for other unaffiliated candidates for office (see pages 8-10).
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Lieutenant Governor Candidates

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter9/20A-9-S201.html
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter9/20A-9-S202.html
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter9/20A-9-S504.html
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 Candidate Profile Submission

Candidates are able to submit candidate profiles in accordance with Utah Code Section 20A-7-801. 

Candidate profiles must be submitted before 5 p.m. no later than 45 days before the primary
election or before 5 p.m. no later than 60 days before the general election.

UCA 20A-7-801

Under State Code (UCA 20A-7-801) a candidate profile submission must include the following:

A statement of qualifications, not exceeding 200 words in length, for each candidate. 

Age
Occupation
City of residence
Years of residence in current city
Email address
A single web address where voters may access more information about the candidate and
the candidate's views

The following current biographical information if desired by the candidate, current:

For more information, please visit our website: vote.utah.gov

Candidate Profiles

Primary election candidate profile due date: May 13, 2024 @ 5:00 p.m.
General election candidate profile due date: September 6, 2024 @ 5:00 p.m.

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter7/20A-7-S801.html
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter7/20A-7-S801.html
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter7/20A-7-S801.html
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter7/20A-7-S801.html
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter7/20A-7-S801.html
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter7/20A-7-S801.html
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter7/20A-7-S801.html
http://vote.utah.gov/
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• Opening a campaign bank account (page 26).

• Contributions (page 26).

• Expenditures (page 28).

• Reporting schedule & deadlines (pages 29-30).

• How to report campaign finances (pages 31-33).

• When to start & stop reporting finances (page 34). 

• Penalties & fines (page 35).

Continue reading the sections below to find out how to follow these requirements.

Failure to adhere to campaign finance requirements may lead to financial penalties and
disqualification from the election. 

If you are a statewide executive candidate, a legislative candidate, or a state board of education

candidate (including unaffiliated and write-in candidates), you will follow state campaign finance law

and file with the Lieutenant Governor’s Office at www.disclosures.utah.gov.

Reporting your campaign finances is required by law. Federal candidates file with the Federal

Election Commission (FEC). If you are a federal candidate, refer to the FEC’s website,

www.fec.gov, for more information on federal campaign finance regulations.

 Campaign Finance & Reporting

Federal Election Commission Utah Lieutenant Governor’s Office

U.S. House of Representatives
Governor
Lieutenant Governor
Attorney General
State Auditor
State Treasurer
State Board of Education
State House of Representatives
State Senate

Who do I report my campaign finances to?

U.S. Senate

Campaign Finance & Reporting

http://www.disclosures.utah.gov/
http://www.disclosures.utah.gov/
https://www.fec.gov/
https://www.fec.gov/


Who can
contribute to
my campaign?

What is a
contribution?

If you are a statewide executive office candidate, a legislative candidate, or a state board of education

candidate, opening a bank account for your campaign is one of the first things you must do. Utah law does

not allow a statewide executive office, legislative or a state board of education candidate to use their

personal OR business banking accounts for a campaign – a separate bank account that is only used for

campaign purposes must be created and used for campaign finances. However, you are allowed to

contribute money from your personal account to a campaign account. These contributions would need to

be reported following the guidelines on pages 26-27. This would be considered a contribution from

yourself to your campaign.

A contribution is generally anything of value that your campaign receives. The
state does not place limits on contributions.

Utah Code 20A-11-101(6) provides the legal definition of a contribution. Here
are the 4 most common types:
• Money donations;
• Gifts;
• Loans (including ones from yourself); or
• In-kind services or donations.

Every contribution your campaign receives must be reported, including
contributions from your personal accounts. When reporting contributions, you
must  include the contribution’s value, date, and the contributor’s name and
address.

         Unpaid volunteers and goods or services that your campaign did not 
         authorize or coordinate do not need to be reported.
     
Individuals, corporations, political action committees (PAC), and political
parties may contribute to your campaign. 

If you receive a contribution from a PAC or political party, they may have
additional requirements to file financial disclosure reports separate from
yours. It is recommended that you notify these entities of this possible
requirement to ensure they comply with the law and avoid fines.

         Federal law prohibits any foreign nationals from making any contributions            
         or expenditures in connection with any election. 
         (Refer to the FEC’s “Foreign Nationals” brochure for more information).

Some banks require an Employer Identification Number (EIN) to open an account. The Lieutenant

Governor’s Office or your county clerk cannot provide this number. Refer to the IRS’s website,

www.irs.gov, for more information.

Contributions

Opening a campaign bank account
UCA 20A-11-101, UCA 20A-11-201, UCA 20A-11-301, UCA 20A-11-1301

UCA 20A-11-101, UCA 20A-11-201, UCA 20A-11-301, UCA 20A-11-1301, UCA 20A-11-601 
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https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter11/20A-11-S101.html?v=C20A-11-S101_2019051420190514
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter11/20A-11-S101.html?v=C20A-11-S101_2019051420190514
https://www.fec.gov/updates/foreign-nationals/
https://www.fec.gov/updates/foreign-nationals/
https://www.irs.gov/businesses/small-businesses-self-employed/employer-id-numbers
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter11/20A-11-S101.html?v=C20A-11-S101_2019051420190514
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter11/20A-11-S201.html?v=C20A-11-S201_2019051420190514
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter11/20A-11-S301.html?v=C20A-11-S301_2019051420190514
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter11/20A-11-S1301.html?v=C20A-11-S1301_2019051420190514
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter11/20A-11-S101.html?v=C20A-11-S101_2019051420190514
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter11/20A-11-S201.html?v=C20A-11-S201_2019051420190514
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter11/20A-11-S301.html?v=C20A-11-S301_2019051420190514
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter11/20A-11-S1301.html?v=C20A-11-S1301_2019051420190514
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter11/20A-11-S601.html?v=C20A-11-S601_2019051420190514


Anonymous
contributions

What is an in-
kind
contribution?

Can I aggregate 
(or combine) my
contributions
when reporting?

Contributions
from pass-
through entities

When is a
contribution
considered
received?

If your campaign receives anything of value that is not money, this is considered
an in-kind contribution. Just like monetary donations, you must report all in-
kind contributions to your campaign.

If your campaign receives an in-kind contribution, you are responsible for 
determining its value to report it. You can typically ask the contributor to
provide an estimate of the market value of the service or product. For example,
if a farmers’ market typically charges $100.00 for booth space but waived the
fee for your campaign, you received a $100.00 in-kind donation from the
farmers’ market for booth space.

It is recommended that in-kind contributions are reported at the time that the 
candidate benefits. If the value of the contribution is not known, it is advised
that you report an approximate value and then amend it later if and when you 
become aware of a more precise value. 

Although the in-kind amount is displayed on your online financial ledger and on
your disclosure reports, it will not affect the balance of your financial ledger. For
example, if you have a $0.00 balance and add a $100.00 in-kind contribution to
your financial ledger, your balance will remain $0.00. For more information
about your financial ledger, refer to page 32.

No, each contribution received must be reported as a separate contribution. It is
unlawful to aggregate–or combine–contributions, no matter how small they may
be. Whether the contribution was $1.00 or $10,000.00, you must include the
contributor’s name and address as well as the contribution’s value and date.

You cannot use a campaign contribution if it is from an anonymous source and
greater than $50.00. If you receive an anonymous contribution greater than
$50.00, you must transfer the money to the state, county, city or a 501(c)(3)
non-profit organization.

Many candidates use pass-through entities to collect donations (such as PayPal,
Act Blue, Square, or GoFundMe). When you report your contributions that come
through an entity like this, report the original source of the contribution instead
of the pass-through entity. 

A contribution is considered received when you:
• Deposit a check;
• Have the cash in hand; or
• Benefit from an in-kind contribution.

Pass-through entity example: Jane Doe contributes $100 to your
campaign using PayPal. Because you received the money from Jane Doe
and not PayPal, you would report the contribution as received from Jane
Doe.

27

Campaign Finance & Reporting (Contributions)



What is an
expenditure?

What should I do
if I’m not sure
whether an
expenditure is
legal or not?

Prohibited
expenditures

An expenditure is anything of value that your campaign spends. 

You can use credit cards to pay for campaign expenses. However, do not report

your monthly credit card payment as an expenditure. Instead, report each

transaction on your credit card’s billing statement.

Every expenditure that your campaign makes must be reported. When you report

expenditures, you must include the amount, date, and its specific purpose. 

For example, if you charged $200.00 on your credit card, report the individual

transactions (such as $100.00 paid to Printing, Inc. for printing and $100.00 paid

to Sign, Inc. for signs) instead of the $200.00 sum.

Utah law prohibits using your campaign funds for you or your family’s personal use.

Below is a non-exhaustive list of prohibited expenditures:

We recommend that you contact a disclosures specialist in the Office of the

Lieutenant Governor. Call (801) 538-1041 or email disclosure@utah.gov for 

guidance on your specific circumstances.

Utah Code 20A-11-101(15) provides the legal definition of expenditure, but here are

some common types:

• Purchases or payments related to the campaign;

• Compensation for staff or services;

• Campaign loan repayments.

Expenditures

Rent, mortgage, or utilities for
your personal property
(campaign office space is
exempt)
Household food items or
supplies
Clothing (except clothing that
bears your campaign’s logo
and is used for the campaign)
Personal services (e.g.,
attorney & physician fees)
Membership fee to a
professional organization

UCA 20A-11-101, UCA 20A-11-104, UCA 20A-11-201, UCA 20A-11-301, 20A-11-601, UCA 20A-11-1301

Admission to events
Dues or fees to clubs or gyms
Salary or payment to anyone
who does not work for your
campaign
Vehicle payment
Personal debt
Travel expenses unrelated to
the campaign
Meal expenses unrelated to the
campaign 
Vacation or vacation related
expenses

Making
expenditures 
using credit
cards
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Contest 7-Business Day Reporting Requirement Begins:

Convention
Contact your party (page 5) to determine your convention dates, and then

calculate 30 calendar days prior to that date.

Primary Election Sunday, May 26, 2024

General Election Sunday, October 6, 2024
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The 31 day rule and 3 day rule only applies to campaign contributions. However, the report chart
below applies to contributions and expenditures.

Utah campaign finance law requires candidates and current officeholders to report contributions
on a rolling basis AND on specific dates throughout the year. 

Reporting Schedule & Deadlines
UCA 20A-11-201, UCA 20A-11-203, UCA 20A-11-204, UCA 20A-11-302, UCA 20A-11-303, UCA 20A-11-1302, UCA 20A-11-1303

Questions about campaign finance? Email disclosure@utah.gov

You must report each contribution within 31 calendar days of receiving it.
See page 27 for an explanation of when a contribution is considered received.

If you have an opponent for the convention, primary election, or general election,
you must report all campaign contributions within 7 business days beginning the
30 days before the convention or election. Refer to the table below to determine
when this requirement begins:

31 day contribution
reporting
requirement

7 day contribution
reporting
requirement

In addition to regular contribution reporting, state executive, legislative and state board of education
candidates are required to submit 5 reports on disclosures.utah.gov throughout the 2024 election cycle.
Refer to the table below for these reporting deadlines:

Report Name Report Deadline
Report Includes Transactions

Between
Candidates who file

Convention
7 days before convention 

(11:59 p.m.)
When candidacy begins - 5 days before

convention report is due

All partisan candidates
(Not state board of

education candidates)

March 23rd March 23, 2024 (11:59 p.m.)
When candidacy begins - March 18,

2024
*Unaffiliated legislative

candidates only

May 15th May 15, 2024 (11:59 p.m.) When candidacy begins - May 10, 2024
State board of education

candidates only

Primary Election June 18, 2024 (11:59 p.m.) When candidacy begins - June 13, 2024 All candidates

September 30th
September 30, 2024 

(11:59 p.m.)
June 14, 2024 - September 25, 2024 All candidates

General Election
October 29, 2024 

(11:59 p.m.)
September 26, 2024 - October 24, 2024 All candidates

Year-End January 10, 2025 (11:59 p.m.) October 25, 2024 - December 31, 2024 All candidates

Campaign Finance & Reporting (Reporting Schedule & Deadlines)

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter11/20A-11-S201.html?v=C20A-11-S201_2019051420190514
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter11/20A-11-S203.html?v=C20A-11-S203_2019051420190514
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter11/20A-11-S204.html
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter11/20A-11-S302.html?v=C20A-11-S302_2019051420190514
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter11/20A-11-S303.html?v=C20A-11-S303_2019051420190514
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter11/20A-11-S1302.html?v=C20A-11-S1302_2019051420190514
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter11/20A-11-S1303.html
mailto:disclosure@utah.gov
mailto:disclosure@utah.gov
http://disclosures.utah.gov/


Reporting
requirements
(cont.)
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You must include all campaign contributions and expenditures made during the

reporting period (3rd column from left in the table on page 31). 

Reporting deadlines are the same for all candidates except for the Convention,

March 30th, and May 15th reports. The Convention report is due 7 days before

your party’s convention (if you are a partisan candidate) - even if you do not

participate in the convention process. If the reporting deadline falls on a

weekend or holiday, the report will be due the following business day.

Refer to page 5 to contact your party and determine the exact date of your 

convention.

Questions about campaign finance? Email disclosure@utah.gov

Did you
receive

campaign
contributions?

Yes

Yes

No

Report

Yes

Report

State Board of
Education Candidate

Partisan Candidate
(not state board of

education candidates)

Unaffiliated
Legislative Candidate

Do you have an
opponent in your

upcoming convention
or election?

Is it within 30
calendar days of the
Convention, Primary,
or General Election?

May 15

March 23

7 Days before
convention

Report within 31
days of receiving

contribution

“3 Day” Rule Applies
Submit report within 3

business days of
receiving 

contribution

June 18, 2024
September 30, 2024

October 29, 2024
January 10, 2025

Campaign Contribution/Expenditure Reporting Chart

Campaign
contributions 

AND expenditures
are reported 

Refer to pages 31-33 to learn how to file these reports

The March 23rd report applies to unaffiliated legislative candidates only and the
May 15th report applies to State Board of Education candidates only.

Campaign Finance & Reporting (Reporting Schedule & Deadlines)
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All statewide constitutional offices, legislative, and state board of education candidates must file financial

disclosure reports on the Lieutenant Governor’s Office website, www.disclosures.utah.gov. Candidates

should follow the steps below to report contributions, expenditures, and file reports.

How to report your campaign finances

On the “My Folder” screen, there are three

red links in the middle of the screen under

the bolded word “Actions.” Click on

“Financial Ledger.”

All contributions and expenditures are entered
into your online financial ledger. This is also
where reports are filed. To access your ledger,
log on www.disclosures.utah.gov and click “My
Folder” on the left of your screen.

On the top left-hand section of the screen, select

“New User.” Skip this and the next item if you already

have a username.

You will want to familiarize yourself with the “Financial Ledger” tool. See the

next page for instructions on using the various functions.

The “Create a New Web Account” screen should appear. 

Here you will create a username which allows you to

access the disclosures website. This is not the same as

registering your campaign–that will be done in the next

step. Fill out your personal information and create your

username and password. Click “Register.” Your username
information will not be public.

Questions about campaign finance? Email disclosure@utah.gov

Using a web browser, go to www.disclosures.utah.govCreate a
username
& register
your
campaign

Navigate
your
online
financial
ledger

Campaign Finance & Reporting (How to Report)
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6

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

1 2 3

7

4

5

Year Tabs

File Report

Name of Reports

Purpose/Address

Download Import Sheet

Special Reporting Categories

Contributions/Expenditures/Balance
Loan

Changes/Edits

Emailing Disclosures

In-kind Contributions 

Unaffiliated Candidates 

These are the buttons to file your reports. Simply click “File Report” once you
have entered all contributions and expenditures for the applicable reporting
period. 

This column displays the specific purpose of an expenditure or the address of
a contribution. This information is only displayed if you click “Show Details” for
a report.

If you prefer, you can complete an import sheet in Microsoft Excel and email
the file to disclosure@utah.gov. 

These columns display the total amount of contributions and expenditures, as
well as the total account balance for each report. If you click “Show Details,”
each column will display amounts for individual contributions and
expenditures. Use the “Add” button in the top row to enter a new contribution
or expenditure.

These are the names of the required reports for a regular general election year. 
When you enter a contribution or expenditure, the ledger automatically sorts
them under the appropriate report based on the reporting period. You can
view reporting period dates by hovering your cursor over a report name. To
view all contributions and expenditures under a particular report, simply click
“Show Details” next to the report’s name.

These columns represent four items:

• I = in-kind contribution
• L = loan
• A = report amendment
• P = public service assistance (for current office holders only)

If a transaction falls into one or more of these categories, the ledger will make
a note of it in these columns. Remember that in-kind contributions will not
affect the balance of your ledger.

These tabs display the years your account has been active since you last
declared candidacy. If you are a new candidate, you will only have one tab for
the current year. For older accounts, simply click on a year to view the ledger
for that year.

All emailed disclosure

documents must be received

before the reporting

deadline.

The “convention” report

will be displayed as the 

May 15th report.

You may make changes to

your report once you

submit it, but any changes

will be publicly displayed

as amendments.

Public Service Assistance
Can be a gift, subscription,

donation, unpaid or

partially unpaid loan,

advance, or deposit of

money or anything of

value to an officeholder.

Can also include goods or

services provided at less

than fair market value for

the benefit of the

officeholder.

Means any funds received

by the filing entity if the

person expects repayment

or reimbursement. Loans

can be from a personal

account.

These contributions do not

affect your total balance, but

they still must be reported.

Completing the Financial Ledger

Questions about campaign finance? Email disclosure@utah.gov
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File your
disclosure
report

Add a
contribution
or
expenditure

Edit or
delete a
contribution
or
expenditure

How to report your campaign finances (cont.)

To delete a transaction, click the “Delete” button. The
transaction’s details will be deleted and it will no longer
affect your balance, but the transaction’s name will be
changed to “[DELETED]”.

To edit or delete a specific transaction, click on the
row you would like to change. The row will highlight
and the “Edit” and “Delete” buttons will appear.
Make changes as desired. Note: If the report is
already filed and you are making changes,
“Amend” and “Delete” buttons will appear instead.
 
To edit a transaction, click the “Edit” button. After
editing a transaction, it will be noted as an
amendment.

Clicking the “Add” button will display a pop-up.
Here you will enter the date of the expenditure, the
specific purpose of the expenditure, and the
expenditure amount. The expenditure amount must
be detailed and clear. Also, there is a check box to
use if the expenditure is related to a loan.

Before submitting your report, we recommend that you

review all of your contributions and expenditures to

ensure they have accurately been entered into the

ledger. When you are ready to submit a report, click the

“File Report” button on the ledger. You will be asked to

confirm the filing. You will receive an on-screen and

email confirmation each time you file a report.

Clicking the “Add” button will display a pop-up. Here 
you will enter the amount and date of the
contribution (refer to page 27 to determine when a
contribution is received) as well as the contributor’s
name and address. You can also designate the
contribution as in-kind, loan, or public service
assistance (for current office holders only).

Expenditure

Contribution

Questions about campaign finance? Email disclosure@utah.gov

To add a contribution or expenditure, simply click
“Add” in the appropriate ledger column.
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How do I close
my accounts?

How do I
close my
disclosures.
utah.gov
account?

When do I start
reporting my
campaign
finances?

When do I stop
reporting my
campaign
finances?

Once you announce candidacy, receive a contribution, or spend money on 

campaigning, you must begin reporting finances (even if you have not 

officially declared candidacy or your intent to gather signatures).

If you lose an election, resign from office, or no longer receive or spend campaign

money, you have the option of closing your bank account and financial disclosure

account. By closing your accounts, you will no longer need to report your campaign

finances. 

If you plan to run for office in the future, you can keep your campaign money and
accounts, but you will be required to continue reporting your finances. If you close
your accounts now but run again in the future, you must open a new bank account
and disclosures.utah.gov account.

You must return or donate your remaining campaign funds to close your accounts.
You may:

• Pay back any loans your campaign received (including loans you made to your 

own campaign);

• Return funds to contributors;

• Donate the funds to a candidate, political party, or 
political action committee (PAC); or

• Donate the funds to a 501(c)(3) organization.

Note: Refer to your bank for specific instructions to close your bank account. 

To close your online financial disclosures account, follow these instructions:

When to start & stop reporting finances
UCA 20A-11-104, UCA 20A-11-304

1. Log in to www.disclosures.utah.gov. Ensure that your
financial ledger is updated, your account balance is $0.00,
and you have filed the next upcoming report.

2. Return to the home page after updating your ledger. 
Click “My Folder” on the toolbar located on the left side of
the screen.

3. You will notice three red links in the middle of the screen
under “Actions.” Click “Manage Folder.”

4. In this new screen, click “Close Account.” A pop-up will
appear and ask for confirmation. Read this carefully and then
click “Submit.”

Note: If the ledger balance is not $0.00 or other reports need to be filed, you will be instructed to complete
these tasks prior to closing the account.

Questions about campaign finance? Email disclosure@utah.gov
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Reporting late
contributions

How do I pay a
fine?

What if I don’t
file or there are
errors?

When do I
need to pay a
fine?

If you fail to adhere to campaign finance and disclosure laws, you may face fines, criminal penalties,

and disqualification from the election.

This table outlines the penalties for filing a late report:

• 10% of each late contribution if it is reported within 60 days after the deadline

• 20% of each late contribution if it is reported more than 60 days after the 
deadline

Statewide executive, legislative, and state board of education candidates must pay 

fines through the Lieutenant Governor’s Office. You may pay with a check (made 

payable to the State of Utah), or you can call the Lieutenant Governor’s Office at 

801-538-1041 to conduct a credit card transaction over the phone.

Statewide executive, legislative, and state board of education candidates are 

required to pay within 30 calendar days of receiving the fine. Failure to pay within 

this time frame may result in a class B misdemeanor.

If you fail to file, or the filed report contains errors, the lieutenant governor will 

notify the candidate of the issue within 5 business days of discovering the issue. 

If a corrected report is not submitted within 7 business days after receiving this 

notice, the candidate could be guilty of a class B misdemeanor, and violations may 

be reported to the Utah Attorney General.

Campaign Finance Penalties & Fines

Report
Name

Report
Deadline

Fine/Penalty Candidates who
file

Questions about campaign finance? Email disclosure@utah.gov

Report Name Report Deadline Fine/Penalty Candidates who file

Convention
7 days before convention 

(11:59 p.m.)
$100 fine All partisan candidates 

March 23rd March 23, 2024 (11:59 p.m.) $100 fine
*Nonpartisan legislative

candidates only

May 15th May 15, 2024 (11:59 p.m.) $100 fine 
State board of education

candidates only

Primary Election June 18, 2024 (11:59 p.m.) $100 fine & disqualification* All candidates

September 30th
September 30, 2024 

(11:59 p.m.)
$100 fine & disqualification* All candidates

General Election
October 29, 2024 

(11:59 p.m.)
$100 fine & disqualification* All candidates

Year-End January 10, 2025 (11:59 p.m.) $100 fine All candidates

*If you fail to file the Primary, September 30th, or General Election report, you will be fined and given a 24-hour grace
period to file the report. If you do not file the report within this grace period, you will be disqualified from the election.

Separate from the deadlines and penalties listed in the table above, there 
are penalties for failing to report contributions within the 31 calendar days 
or 3 business day requirement. Refer to page 29 for more information on these 
requirements: 
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Campaign regulations (pages 36-38).

Important election dates (page 39).

County Clerk contact information (page 40).

Legislative and state board of education districts (pages 41-43).

If your campaign pays for any type of advertisement (e.g., mailers, TV, radio, newspaper,

billboard, etc.), the advertisement must clearly state that your campaign authorized and

paid for the advertisement.

If your campaign does not pay for an advertisement, but it is approved by your

campaign, the advertisement must clearly state who paid for the advertisement and that

your campaign authorized it.

However, this requirement does not apply to certain campaign items such as:

• Lawn signs smaller than 4ft. by 8ft. in size;

• Bumper stickers;

• Campaign buttons, stickers, and pens; and

• Items that are too small to conveniently print the disclaimer.

Any type of bribery is strictly prohibited by law. You cannot:

• Offer or promise an individual money, prizes, benefits, or employment to vote, 

refrain from voting, remain away from the polls, or receive political support.

• Offer or promise anything to other candidates to drop out of the race, stay in the race,

or perform any other action.

• Pay for endorsements.

A person convicted of these offenses is guilty of a third degree felony.

When voting is taking place at a polling location, you are not allowed to campaign or

electioneer on public property within 150 feet of the building (this rule also applies to

ballot boxes). This includes wearing campaign or campaign-related shirts and buttons or

displaying signs or bumper stickers. You also cannot interfere with voters or the

administration of the polling place.

 Other Useful Information

Campaign Regulations
Utah law prohibits certain activities related to campaigning. Familiarize yourself with these laws to avoid
possible legal issues, fines, and penalties. The laws listed below are some of the most common issues that
arise during the campaign season, but this list is not all-inclusive. Refer to Title 20A of the Utah State Code
for more information. To determine whether there are additional regulations for federal candidates, you
should consult the appropriate federal agency.

Advertisements

Bribery

Campaigning
near a polling
location
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Poll watchers

Campaign signs

Names on the
ballot

Campaign signs
on public
roadways

Using public
email for
political
purposes

State election law does not prohibit you from placing campaign signs on public property
with the exception of state rights-of-way (see next page), but a government or other
public entity may prohibit it. Ask the appropriate public entity whether you may place
signs on public property. If a public entity allows campaign signs on public property, all
candidates must be allowed to place signs. You are not allowed to move, remove, tamper,
or vandalize any campaign signs unless the sign is your own. It is a class B misdemeanor to
do so.

If you have permission from the property owner, you are allowed to place campaign signs
on private property. Property owners can remove your signs without your consent and
are not obligated to return the signs to you.

State and federal law prohibit campaign signs within state rights-of-way (Utah Code
Section 72-7-102). This includes all state highways, medians, road shoulders, sound walls,
on-ramps, off-ramps, overpasses, and adjoining fence lines. Candidates are encouraged to
place signs on private property with the consent of the property owner. The only
restriction for signs on private property is that they must not block the view of oncoming
traffic. 

If a campaign sign is placed within the state rights-of-way or poses a traffic hazard, it may
be removed. Signs that have been removed will be stored by UDOT, and the sign owner
may retrieve the signs for future use. 

A local government may allow campaign signs in its own rights-of-way. Please contact
your local government for more information; regulations and restrictions vary among
cities and counties. 

For more information about state sign regulations please email
OutdoorAdvertisingControl@udot.gov, or call (801) 965-4209.

The order of candidates’ names on the ballot is established by a random alphabet—the
master ballot position list. The ballot position list will be determined after the declaration
of candidacy period. The list will be posted on vote.utah.gov.

Poll watchers are not required, but you may designate poll watchers. Poll watchers should
register with the county clerk beforehand.

Watchers are there to observe the voting and tabulation process. They are not there to
interfere. Watchers may make written memos, but they cannot communicate the progress
of the voting or counting in any way. Doing so will result in a third degree felony.

Counties may make other rules regarding poll watching. Watchers may be required 
to surrender their cell phone or remain in a certain area of the room.

If you are a current office holder or work in the public sector (including public 
education), you cannot use your public entity email address for political or 
campaign-related purposes. The fine for the first offense can be up to $250. Fines for 
subsequent offenses are $1,000 and over.
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Submitting
ballots

Withdrawing your
candidacy or
intent to gather
signatures 

Candidates or their campaigns cannot collect or submit mail ballots on

behalf of voters. They can, however, give voters rides to polling locations.

You may withdraw your candidacy or your declaration of intent to gather

signatures by submitting a written affidavit to your filing officer. If you

withdraw your intent to gather signatures, any signatures you submitted

prior to withdrawal will not be verified. Candidates who withdraw within 65

days of the election will have their name on the ballot, but votes case for

them will not be counted.
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Even
t

Date Event

January 2 - January 8 (5:00 p.m.), 2024 Candidate Filing

2 weeks before convention Candidate petition signatures must be submitted

7 days before convention Financial disclosure report due (except for unaffiliated candidates)

1 day before convention Signature gathering candidates are certified for the primary election ballot

Late March - Late April Political parties hold nominating conventions

March 30, 2024 Financial disclosure report due for unaffiliated legislative candidates

April 29, 2024 Last day unaffiliated candidates can declare candidacy

May 10, 2024 Primary Election ballots are sent to military and out-of-country voters

May 13, 2024 (5:00 p.m.) Candidate biographies/profiles must be submitted for voter information website for primary election

May 15, 2024 Financial disclosure report due for state board of education candidates

June 4, 2024 Primary Election mail ballots are sent to voters

June 11, 2024 Primary Election in-person early voting begins

June 14, 2024 (5:00 p.m.) Last day a voter can register to vote for the Primary Election

June 20, 2024 Last day a voter may request an absentee ballot for the Primary Election

June 21, 2024 Primary Election in-person early voting ends (a county may extend early voting until June 24th)

June 23, 2024 Financial disclosure report due 

June 24, 2024 Last day to postmark a ballot

June 25, 2024 PRIMARY ELECTION DAY

July 9, 2024 Final Primary Election results are certified by the county clerks

September 6, 2024 (5:00 p.m.) Candidate biographies/profiles must be submitted for voter information website for general election

September 20, 2024 General Election ballots are sent to military and out-of-country voters

September 30, 2024 Financial disclosure report due

October 15, 2024 General Election mail ballots are sent to voters

October 22, 2024 General Election in-person early voting begins

October 25, 2024 (5:00 p.m.) Last day a voter can register to vote for the General Election

October 27, 2024
Financial disclosure report due & last day a voter can register to vote for the General Election online or at

the county clerk’s office

October 31, 2024 Last day a voter may request an absentee ballot for the General Election

November 1, 2024 (5:00 p.m.) General Election in-person early voting ends (a county may extend early voting until November 4th)

November 4, 2024 Last day to postmark a ballot

November 5, 2024 GENERAL ELECTION DAY

November 19, 2024 Final General Election results are certified by the county clerks

November 26, 2024 Federal and multi-county candidates are certified by the State Board of Canvassers

Below is a calendar of important dates for the election. Note that not all election related dates and

deadlines are represented in this calendar.

Important Election Dates

 Important Election Dates



Davis 

Cache 

Emery 

Beaver 

Carbon 

Daggett 

Box Elder 

Duchesne 

Iron 

Kane 

Piute 

Grand 

Millard 

Morgan 

Garfield Rich 

Sevier 

Tooele 

Summit 

Sanpete 

Salt Lake 

San Juan 

Utah 

Weber 

Wayne 

Wasatch 

Washington 

Clerk: Brian McKenzie
clerk@daviscountyutah.gov
61 South Main 
Farmington, UT 84025
Phone: 801-451-3213 
Fax: 801-451-3421 

Clerk/Auditor: Brenda Tuttle
brendat@emery.utah.gov
P.O. Box 907 
Castle Dale, UT 84513 
Phone: 435-381-3550 
Fax: 435-381-5183 

Clerk/Auditor: David Benson

179 North Main Street 
Suite 102 
Logan, UT 84321 
Phone: 435-755-1460 
Fax: 435-755-1980 

Clerk: Marla Young
myoung@boxeldercounty.org
01 S. Main St. 
Brigham City, UT 84302 
Phone: 435-734-3393 
Fax: 435-723-7562 

Clerk/Auditor: Chelise Jessen
cjessen@duchesne.utah.gov
734 North Center Street 
P.O. Box 270 
Duchesne, UT 84021 
Phone: 435-738-1228 
Fax: 435-738-5522 

Clerk: Brian Raymond
braymond@daggettcounty.org
P.O. Box 400 
Manila, UT 84046 
Phone: 435-784-3154 
Fax: 435-784-3335 

Clerk/Auditor: Seth Marsing
seth.marsing@carbon.utah.gov
751 East 100 North, Ste. 1100
Price, UT 84501 
Phone: 435-636-3221 
Fax: 435-636-3210 

Clerk/Auditor: Ginger McMullin
gingermcmullin@beaver.utah.gov
105 E. Center St. 
P.O. Box 392 
Beaver, UT 84713 
Phone: 435-438-6463 
Fax: 435-213-1752 

Clerk/Auditor: Kali Gleave
kgleave@piute.utah.gov
P.O. Box 99 
Junction, UT 84740 
Phone: 435-577-2840 
Fax: 435-577-2433 

Clerk: Jon Whittaker
jwhittaker@ironcounty.net
68 S. 100 E. 
P.O. Box 429 
Parowan, UT 84761
Phone: 435-477-8340 
Fax: 435-477-8847 

Clerk: Marki Rowley
mrowley@co.millard.ut.us
765 S. Highway 99, Ste. 6
Fillmore, UT 84631 
Phone: 435-743-6223 
Fax: 435-743-6923 

Clerk/Auditor: Chameill Lamb 
clamb@kane.utah.gov
76 N. Main St. 
Kanab, UT 84741 
Phone: 435-644-2458 
Fax: 435-644-4939 

Clerk/Auditor: Camille Moore

55 S Main 
P.O. Box 77 
Panguitch, UT 84759 
Phone: 435-676-1120 
Fax: 435-676-8239 

Clerk/Auditor: Leslie Hyde
lhyde@morgancountyutah.gov
48 West Young St., Room 18
P.O. Box 886 
Morgan, UT 84050 
Phone: 801-845-4011 
Fax: 801-829-6176 

Clerk/Auditor: Gabriel Woytek
gwoytek@grandcountyutah.net
125 E. Center 
Moab, UT 84532 
Phone: 435-259-1321 
Fax: 435-259-2959 

Clerk/Auditor: Tanielle Callaway
taniellec@juabcounty.gov
160 North Main 
Nephi, UT 84648 
Phone: 435-623-3410 
Fax: 435-623-5936 

Clerk: Lannie Chapman
lkchapman@slco.org 
2001 South State Street
#S1200 
Salt Lake City, UT 84190 
Phone: 385-468-7400
Fax: 385-468-7401 

Clerk: Linda Christiansen 

160 North Main, Ste. 202
Manti, UT 84642 
Phone: 435-835-2131 
Fax: 435-835-2144 

Clerk: Tracy Shaw
Tracy.shaw@tooeleco.org
47 S. Main #318 
Tooele, UT 84074 
Phone: 435-843-3140 x 6
Fax: 435-882-7317 

Clerk/Auditor: Steven Wall
scwall@sevier.utah.gov
P.O. Box 607 
Richfield, UT 84701 
Phone: 435-893-0401 
Fax: 435-893-0496 

Clerk: Eve Furse
efurse@summitcounty.org
60 N Main, P.O. Box 128
Coalville, UT 84017 
Phone: 435-336-3204 
Fax: 435-336-3030 

Clerk/Auditor: Lyman Duncan
lduncan@sanjuancounty.org
P.O. Box 338 
Monticello, UT 84535 
Phone: 435-587-3223 
Fax: 435-587-2425 x 4 

Clerk/Auditor: Anneliesa Peart
apeart@richcountyut.org 
20 South Main, P.O. Box 218
Randolph, UT 84064 
Phone: 435-793-2415 
Fax: 435-793-2410 

Clerk/Auditor: Michael Wilkins
mwilkins@uintah.utah.gov
clerk-auditor@uintah.utah.gov
147 East Main
Vernal, UT 84078
Phone: 435-781-5360
Fax: 435-781-6701

Clerk: Felicia Snow
felicia@wayne.utah.gov
18 South Main 
P.O. Box 189 
Loa, UT 84747 
Phone: 435-836-1300
Fax: 435-836-2479 

Clerk Aaron Davidson
aarond@utahcounty.gov
100 E. Center, Room 3100
Provo, UT 84606 
Phone: 801-851-8128 
Fax: 801-370-8122 

Clerk/Auditor: Joey Granger
jgranger@wasatch.utah.gov
25 North Main 
Heber City, UT 84032 
Phone: 435-657-3190 
Fax: 435-654-0834 

Clerk/Auditor: Ricky Hatch
rhatch@webercountyutah.gov
2380 Washington Blvd., #320
Ogden, UT 84401 
Phone: 801-399-8034 
Fax: 801-399-8300 

Clerk/Auditor: Ryan Sullivan
Ryan.Sullivan@washco.utah.gov
111 East Tabernacle St. 
St. George, UT 84770
Phone:435-301-7248 
Fax: 435-634-5763 

David.Benson@CacheCounty.gov 

lchristiansen@sanpetecountyutah.gov

UPDATED 10/2023 

Uintah

County Clerk Contact Information
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  Juab 

You can also find County
Clerk information on our
website using this link.

County Clerk Information

Camille.moore@garfield.utah.gov 
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Legislative and State Board of Education Districts 

Legislative Districts 

House Districts
District One (1) is located in Box Elder County and a portion of Cache County. 

District Two (2) is located in a portion of Cache County.

District Three (3) is located in a portion of Cache County. 

District Four (4) is located in Rich County and portions of Morgan and Summit Counties. 

District Five (5) is located in a portion of Cache County. 

District Six (6) is located in portions of Box Elder and Weber Counties. 

District Seven (7) is located in a portion of Weber County. 

District Eight (8) is located in portions of Weber and Morgan Counties. 

District Nine (9) is located in a portion of Weber County. 

District Ten (10) is located in a portion of Weber County. 

District Eleven (11) is located in portions of Davis and Weber Counties. 

District Twelve (12) is located in portions of Davis and Weber Counties.

District Thirteen (13) is located in a portion of Davis County. 

District Fourteen (14) is located in a portion of Davis County.  

District Fifteen (15) is located in a portion of Davis County. 

District Sixteen (16) is located in a portion of Davis County. 

District Seventeen (17) is located in a portion of Davis County. 

District Eighteen (18) is located in a portion of Davis County. 

District Nineteen (19) is located in a portion of Davis County. 

District Twenty (20) is located in a portion of Davis County. 

District Twenty-one (21) is located in a portion of Salt Lake County. 

District Twenty-two (22) is located in a portion of Salt Lake County. 

District Twenty-three (23) is located in portions of Salt Lake and Summit Counties. 

District Twenty-four (24) is located in a portion of Salt Lake County.

District Twenty-five (25) is located in a portion of Salt Lake County.  

District Twenty-six (26) is located in a portion of Salt Lake County. 

District Twenty-seven (27) is located in a portion of Salt Lake County. 

District Twenty-eight (28) is located in a portion of Tooele County. 

District Twenty-nine (29) is located in Millard County and portions of Juab and Tooele Counties. 

District Thirty (30) is located in a portion of Salt Lake County. 

District Thirty-one (31) is located in a portion of Salt Lake County.  

District Thirty-two (32) is located in a portion of Salt Lake County. 

District Thirty-three (33) is located in a portion of Salt Lake County. 

District Thirty-four (34) is located in a portion of Salt Lake County. 

District Thirty-five (35) is located in a portion of Salt Lake County. 

District Thirty-six (36) is located in a portion of Salt Lake County. 

District Thirty-seven (37) is located in a portion of Salt Lake County. 
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Legislative and State Board of Education Districts 

Legislative Districts 

House Districts (cont.)
District Thirty-eight (38) is located in a portion of Salt Lake County. 

District Thirty-nine (39) is located in a portion of Salt Lake County. 

District Forty (40) is located in a portion of Salt Lake County. 

District Forty-one (41) is located in a portion of Salt Lake County. 

District Forty-two (42) is located in a portion of Salt Lake County.  

District Forty-three (43) is located in a portion of Salt Lake County. 

District Forty-four (44) is located in a portion of Salt Lake County.  

District Forty-five (45) is located in a portion of Salt Lake County. 

District Forty-six (46) is located in a portion of Salt Lake County.  

District Forty-seven (47) is located in a portion of Salt Lake County. 

District Forty-eight (48) is located in a portion of Salt Lake County. 

District Forty-nine (49) is located in a portion of Salt Lake County. 

District Fifty (50) is located in a portion of Utah County. 

District Fifty-one (51) is located in a portion of Utah County.

District Fifty-two (52) is located in a portion of Utah County.

District Fifty-three (53) is located in a portion of Utah County.

District Fifty-four (54) is located in a portion of Utah County.

District Fifty-five (55) is located in a portion of Utah County.

District Fifty-six (56) is located in a portion of Utah County.

District Fifty-seven (57) is located in a portion of Utah County.

District Fifty-eight (58) is located in a portion of Utah County.

District Fifty-nine (59) is located in Wasatch County and portions of Summit County. 

District Sixty (60) is located in a portion of Utah County.

District Sixty-one (61) is located in a portion of Utah County.

District Sixty-two (62) is located in a portion of Utah County.

District Sixty-three (63) is located in a portion of Utah County.

District Sixty-four (64) is located in a portion of Utah County.

District Sixty-five (65) is located in a portion of Utah County.

District Sixty-six (66) is located in Sanpete County and portions of Juab and Utah Counties. 

District Sixty-seven (67) is located in Carbon County and portions of Duchesne and Emery Counties.

District Sixty-eight (68) is located in Daggett and Uintah Counties and portions of Duchesne and Summit

Counties. 

District Sixty-nine (69) is located in Garfield, Grand, Kane, San Juan, and Wayne Counties and a portion of

Emery County. 

District Seventy (70) is located in Beaver, Piute, and Sevier Counties and a portion of Iron County. 

District Seventy-one (71) is located in a portion of Iron County. 

District Seventy-two (72) is located in Washington County. 

District Seventy-three (73) is located in Washington County.

District Seventy-four (74) is located in Washington County.

District Seventy-five (75) is located in Washington County. 



Legislative Districts 
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Legislative and State Board of Education Districts 

District Two (2) is located in portions of Cache and Rich Counties.

District Three (3) is located in portions of Morgan, Summit, and Weber Counties.

District Four (4) is located in portions of Davis and Weber Counties. 

District Eight (8) is located in portions of Davis and Salt Lake Counties.

District Ten (10) is located in a portion of Salt Lake County.

District Twelve (12) is located in a portion of Salt Lake County for a two (2) year term.

District Fifteen (15) is located in a portion of Salt Lake County.

District Sixteen (16) is located in a portion of Salt Lake County.

District Seventeen (17) is located in a portion of Salt Lake County. 

District Twenty-two (22) is located in portions of Salt Lake and Utah Counties.

District Twenty-four (24) is located in portions of Utah and Wasatch Counties.

District Twenty-five (25) is located in a portion of Utah County.

District Twenty-six (26) is located in Carbon, Emery, Grand, San Juan, and Wasatch Counties and

portions of Garfield, Kane, Utah, and Wayne Counties.

District Twenty-seven (27) is located in Sanpete and Sevier Counties and portions of Garfield, Juab,

Kane, Millard, Piute, Utah, Washington, and Wayne Counties.

District Twenty-nine (29) is located in a portion of Washington County. 

Senate Districts
(Only Districts up for Election in 2024 are listed)

State Board of Education Districts
(Only Districts up for Election in 2024 are listed)

District Three (3) is located in portions of Davis and Weber Counties.

District Six (6) is located in portions of Salt Lake and Summit Counties.

District Seven (7) is located in a portion of Salt Lake County.

District Nine (9) is located in a portion of Salt Lake County.

District Ten (10) is located in portions of Tooele, Salt Lake, and Utah Counties.

District Twelve (12) is located in Daggett, Duchesne, Uintah, Utah, and Wasatch Counties.

District Thirteen (13) is located in a portion of Utah County.

District Fifteen (15) is located in Garfield, Kane, Piute, San Juan, Washington, and Wayne Counties and

a portion of Iron County. 

Refer to this website for district boundary maps.

Legislation outlining Utah House Boundaries Designation can be found here.  

Legislation outlining Utah State Senate Boundaries and Election Designation can be found here.

Legislation outlining State Board of Education Boundaries and Election Designation can be found here.

https://www.arcgis.com/apps/webappviewer/index.html?id=2ea0582adb374e8b86420b222ccd5f7a
https://le.utah.gov/~2021S2/bills/static/HB2005.html
https://le.utah.gov/~2021S2/bills/static/SB2006.html
https://le.utah.gov/~2021S2/bills/static/SB2006.html
https://le.utah.gov/~2021S2/bills/static/SB2005.html
https://le.utah.gov/~2021S2/bills/static/SB2005.html

